Distracted Driving Accident Lawyer

Man looking at his phone while driving

Hundreds of thousands of car accidents occur throughout North Carolina each year. Regrettably, many collisions result from easily preventable behaviors like distracted driving. Although North Carolina was one of the first states to adopt laws prohibiting certain driving distractions, nearly 50,000 distracted driving accidents still occur statewide each year.

If you have been injured in a crash involving a distracted driver, you shouldn’t be on the hook for the financial consequences of your actions. The distracted driving accident lawyers of Kreger Brodish LLP can help you seek fair compensation and accountability for your injuries and other losses. Contact our Durham personal injury lawyers today to learn more about your options in a free case review.

Overview of North Carolina’s Distracted Driving Laws

North Carolina’s distracted driving laws apply only to driving while using cell phones and other electronic devices. It is illegal for North Carolina motorists to operate their vehicles on public roads while:

  • Using a mobile phone to text or manually enter multiple characters to communicate with someone
  • Using a mobile phone to read any text messages or emails that have been sent to or stored on the device, except for caller ID information

Certain exceptions apply to these prohibitions. Drivers can communicate using mobile phones when:

  • Their vehicle is lawfully parked or stopped when they read or send the text
  • They are using the device to complete official duties, such as police work
  • They are using a GPS or other device for directions
  • They are using voice technology that allows for hands-free communication

Distracted driving laws in North Carolina are “primary enforcement” laws. Police officers can pull over drivers because they are texting and driving. North Carolina police officers can issue citations to texting drivers even if they obey all other traffic laws.

The standard penalty for violating North Carolina’s ban on texting while driving is a $100 fine plus court costs. Penalties do not include license demerit points or insurance surcharges.

North Carolina law also prohibits drivers under 18 from using a mobile phone or other devices while driving, even when using the device hands-free. The only exceptions include driving while using a mobile device to communicate with the authorities during an emergency or with the driver’s parent, legal guardian, or spouse. Teens convicted of violating this law must pay $25 in fines.